nanoukmunsterman.reismee.nl

School life

Hey everyone,

So here I'm, seated in my plane on my way to Seattle, writing my next blog. iPad in my lap and coffee in my other hand. It's honestly so hard for me to write an update because it's so hard to explain life here, and my Dutch is honestly failing me most of te time. So I have decided to write an English version and I will try and make a Dutch translation. I also think I completely forgot to tell how a basic week here is, so I'll try and explain.

So as some might know, my daily life here changed a little over the last few weeks because I decide to tryout for lacrosse. So a basic week in my American life. Most of my life here does consist of school, I know.. how boring?! But school here is so much more than just classes. Most schools have clubs and sports, big part of the day(bigger than just 4/5 classes) is spent at or around school. My Monday or most other days starts at 7 am, and I won't bore you with my morning routine. So here is one of the things that I love so much, you could literally come to school in your pajamas and no one would care. I have seen pajamas, sport outfits, blankets and really dressed up people walking around. I have to say wearing sweats to school is very comfy.

I, of course, like a really Dutchie cycle to school. The Netherlands has biking parking spaces, the US has a parking lot. Pretty much everyone over 16 comes to school by car. My schedule was Biology, Algebra 2, US History, P.E. net games and yearbook. (Stop writing for a little, because we have to change planes) (just changed planes, now headed to Las Vegas) Classes are about 70 minutes I think. Classes are rather easy to follow, and net games and yearbook were the best of course. We did badminton, volleyball and pickle-ball. Yearbook is helping making the yearbook. It was actually a very interesting experience. Between second and third period there's a 10 minute break, which I use to buy myself a drink from the coffee corner in school. They serve coffee, but also lemonades and stuff. Another thing I absolutely adore is that you can eat and drink in almost all your classes. There's lunch between third and fourth period, at first I tried taking lunches or buying like a bagel or whatever for a dollar. I have pretty much giving up on that, hihi. I haven't bought lunch in a grocery story in like forever. My school has all kinds of places around, and since we can go off campus. They almost all have 5 dollar student specials. So one day we go to Ron's, they serve rice with meat and a absolute delicious macaroni salad. Then another day we end up at Dickies(probably my favorite). They have a 5 dollar deal with a burger, mac'n'cheese, a drink and ice cream.(the last 2 have tree refills). Pretty much all the places in the US have free refills on sodas. So there's literally so much. A little list of places around school: Safeway, Subway, Dutch Bro's, Market of Choice, Dominos, Mac, Starbucks, and I don't know what else. It's so much and it's was very weird in the beginning but it's just normal now. There's probably Americans who easily spent 20 dollars a day. Buying coffee in the morning, getting a drink in between classes and the lunch. And it doesn't seem to bother them to much. So we start school at 8.30 and we're done at 15.30. After school I cycle back home and try and get some homework done, before I leave at like 5 to get back to school. We have practice for 6 to 8. The school has 2 teams, varsity(kinda like the best team) and JV(my team). We've been practicing for about 3 weeks now, and we have had 2 games. It's a completely new, but very interesting and difficult sport. I have a wonderful and super supportive team and I'm super excited for the rest of the season. So I'll probably update on that a little more. The last 2 games have been a lot of rule learning, there's so many reasons to get fault. We have tied against South and we lost from the other team. But it's all fine, because I'm having tons of fun just playing. I have mostly been playing defense but I have also played a little offense. The team's supportive and welcoming behavior can be find in the entire school. People are so kind for each other, it really feels like a little community. So far my school life here.

I was also going to update on December to now, but this story has already been pretty long, so I'll try and write that soon. I'm also super excited to share my spring break experience with you. Spoiler!: I went to Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon.



Reacties

Reacties

Anita vrieze

Pff effe mijn Engels updaten
,haha maar is gelukt gewoon een paar keer lezen ik zie wel nanouk je moet nog eeen jaar daar blijven ????.
Nee hoor is een grapje maar ben blij voor je dat het zo interessant allemaal is.
Veel Gr en ???? Anita .

mama

Hi Nanouk, This is really hard work for us in the morning. reading in English. We can read between the lines which nice time you have over there in Eugene-Oregon. We saw and read some stuff about your springbreak and are looking forward to read the whole story'.
Big hug mom.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!